In Co-Operation With The

Venue Sponsor


Platinum Benefactors


Gold Benefactors

Anonymous (4)
David Beatty
Graham Blashki
Jennifer Brukner
Richard Büchter
Thomas Büchter
Markus Henkell
Hartmut & Ruth Hofmann
Dr Alastair Jackson
Paul Koenig
Denys & Ingeborg McCullough
Dr Richard Mills
Dr Douglas & Monica Mitchell
Dr Jens & Linde Mohr
Marie Morton FRSA
Lady Primrose Potter AC CMRI
Phillip Schudmak
Hermann Schulz and his family
Peter Spring
H.-P. Wabenhorst

Silver Benefactors

Peter & Anita Bachem
WH John Barr AM
Anthony Battaini
Constance Banks
Prof Dino Bressan & Dr Jacqueline Walters Bressan
Joseph Busietta
Dr David & Eveline Charles
Brian Chatterton
Mary David
Brian Dempster
Dr George & Kathy Deutsch
Rolf Drohn
Knut & Toni Feddersen
Prue Gillies AM
Prof Dr Sabine Hammond
(in memory of Daniel Méra)
Manfred & Ingrid Handel
Peter & Ingrid Hanenberger
Dr Vlad and Radmila Hardi
Jörg & Kerstin Hildebrand
Wolfgang Jacobs
Horst & Maria Kolo
Moni Kutt
Geoff & Cindy Mann
Elizabeth Montgomery
Hugh Morgan AC
Rosemary Oakes
Andrew & Jenny Pike
Herbert & Rita Schwärzler
Reinhold Thomas
Dr W & W Uhlenbruch
Evelyn Voshege
Steffen Welsch
HV & JA Westwood

Opera Grant

The thirteenth MTO German-Australian Opera Grant sponsored by
the German-Australian Community and Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden

1 August 2014

Celeste Haworth
Recipient of the 2015 German-Australian Opera Grant

Click here to see a short clip from
the OPERA FINALE (youtube)

4 Finalists at the Opera Finale:
Matthew Reardon (tenor) – Audience Award, Rebecca Rashleigh (soprano) – MTO Development Grant,
Celeste Haworth (mezzo-soprano) – 2015 GAOG Recipient, Sam Roberts-Smith (baritone) – Encouragement Grant

Finalists, Adjudicators and MTO Directors (from left):
Ian Lowe, Petra Henkell, Hans Henkell, Richard Hobson (MTO), Linda Thompson, Uwe Eric Laufenberg (HSW),
Rebecca Rashleigh, German Honorary Consul General Michael Pearce SC, Celeste Haworth, Sam Roberts-Smith,
Peter Mander, Matthew Reardon, Dr David Kram (MTO), Phillipa Safey (Accompanist),
Cr Beverly Pinder-Mortimer (City of Melbourne), Tony Battaini (Chairman MTO)

2 August 2014
at Deakin Edge, Federation Square, Melbourne

The German-Australian Opera Grant

The winner will be granted a twelve months employment contract (mid August 2015 until July 2016) with the Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden in Germany plus one month German tuition at the Goethe Institut in Berlin (July 2015) and one month work experience (June 2015) for an insight into procedures prior to the official start at the opera house.

An adequate amount of money will ensure that living costs are covered. The grant will be given to an outstanding emerging Australian opera singer in the early stage of his/her professional life with operatic stage experience capable of meeting the high quality standards of this major German opera house.

The value of this grant (including costs occurring in Australia) is approximately $70,000 including a return airfare to Wiesbaden and a $4000 cash prize.

In addition to the German-Australian Opera Grant the Finalists have the opportunity to be considered for:

MTO Grant - Developing Artist

$2500 plus performance opportunity in Australia

Audience Award


Encouragement Grant(s)


In Co-Operation With The

Venue Sponsor

Platinum Benefactors


Gold Benefactors


Silver Benefactors


Like Us On Facebook!

Become a Sponsor or Benefactor

More Than Opera Ltd is looking for additional support. Whilst the current grantee is already covered through generous donations we are now attempting to attract donations and sponsoring to finance the grant from June 2018 and further years.

Donations to "More Than Opera Ltd - Gift Fund" are tax deductible.

Copyright (c) 2003 - 2017 More Than Opera Ltd. All Right Reserved.